THIRD THURSDAYS IN DOWNTOWN KENOSHA

Loading Events

« All Events

Meet & Greet with Markelle Grabo

August 17 @ 11:00 am - 2:00 pm

Free

A faerie curse. A magical wood. A bear that has turned into a boy. And a young girl that must use memories from her childhood in order to save them all.

In “Call Forth a Fox”, debut author Markelle Garbo spins the classic “Snow White and Rose Red” fairytale into a new magical story, perfect for fans of Holly Black. Markelle will be at Blue House Books on August 17th from 11 a.m. to 2 p.m. for a meet and greet event to chat with readers and sign copies of “Call Forth a Fox”!

ABOUT THE BOOK

The western wood is where Ro’s father built their garden, taught her to forage, and told her tales of the faeries who live there—how to summon them, how to protect herself, and warnings of what they are capable of. Now, her father is gone, the garden has withered, and their family is struggling. Her mother and sister want to move into town, but Ro doesn’t want to give up the memories of her father and his stories—or the charming village girl who shares Ro’s love of the trees. The forest isn’t ready to let Ro go either.

One winter night, on her way home from foraging, Ro encounters a bear attacking a fox. She fights the bear to save the fox’s life, only to see the bear turn into a boy after her sister shoots him with an arrow. When the boy wakes, he has no memory of who he is—all he knows is Ro’s name and that he has to kill the fox.

Ro never believed in the faeries from her father’s stories, but she can’t deny the magic surrounding her and that both the boy and the fox are victims of a faerie curse. She’ll have to remember everything her father taught her in order to extract herself from this deadly game and keep her precious fox out of harm’s way.

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

Markelle Grabo retells the fairy tales that frustrate her, which, based on that guideline, could include nearly all of them. Her debut novel, “Call Forth a Fox”, received a starred review from Shelf Awareness for its “beautifully layered construction of identity” and was praised by “Kirkus Reviews” as “an enchanting adventure” and “a welcome spin on a familiar story.” Markelle earned her master’s degree in creative writing for children and young adults from Hamline University and lives in the Greater Chicago Area with her husband and their two cats, Matcha and Kava.

Details

Date:
August 17
Time:
11:00 am - 2:00 pm
Cost:
Free
Event Category:
Event Tags:
, , , , ,
Website:
https://blue-house-books.com/events/232920240817

Organizer

Blue House Books
Phone
(262) 612-5525
Email
events@shopatbhb.com
View Organizer Website

Venue

Blue House Books
5915 6th Avenue A
Kenosha, WI 53142 United States
+ Google Map
Phone
(262) 612-5525
View Venue Website